The American Institute of Architects Hawaii State Council (AIA Hawaii), in partnership with the Hawaii Architectural Foundation, named local architect Christopher J. Smith, FAIA the 2021 Medal of Honor honoree.

Chris J. Smith, FAIA, is the Founder and President of the CJS Group Architects, Ltd., and is known for his service to the AIA.  Chris served as a past President of the Hawaii Society (now AIA Hawaii State Council) and served on the National Board as the AIA Northwest & Pacific Region Director for three years.  He also served two years as the Secretary of the National AIA Institute – the only Hawaii architect to serve in this position.  

Chris pushed the boundaries of what is possible when choosing design projects.  CJS Group Architects designed the HMSA building on Keeaumoku Street, which is a ground-breaking sustainable building that involved original research into building performance.  The Hasegawa Komuten Building was innovative in its approach to Capitol District open space regulations.  Chris’s firm was responsible for the design of the Albert Crary Science and Engineering Technology Center in Antarctica, another building that was thoroughly tested and researched prior to construction.

This honor is given to an architect who has significantly advanced the profession of architecture and whose leadership provides an inspiration to fellow practitioners.

The 2021 celebration will occur on October 15, 2022.  We look forward to celebrating with all of you very soon!


Mahalo to our 2021 Medal of Honor Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Nathan Smith

Silver Sponsors

Sheryl Seaman

Bronze Sponsors

Lee Davis, AIA ME

Student Sponsors

Daniel Chun, FAIA

Medal of Honor Recipient 2019